Cologne Fine Art Prize 2017

With Georg Hornemann, a goldsmith will be awarded the Cologne Fine Art Prize, whose oeuvre demonstrates a variety of references to the visual arts.

Cologne Fine Art laureate: Georg Hornemann

Georg Hornemann, who was born in Dessau, already came into contact with the Bauhaus as a 15-year old, when he apprenticed with one of the former goldsmith masters. In 1958 he resettled to West Germany, to Düsseldorf, where he still lives and works today. Connoisseurs, collectors and curators position Georg Hornemann in the tradition of a Johann Melchior Dinglinger or a Fabergé. After he won the Prix de la Ville de Genève for the first time in 1967 and the Diamonds International Award New York in 1968, he has to the present day received nearly all international distinctions that can be awarded in the field of jewellery design.

Georg Hornemann has worked together with contemporary artists like Alicia Kwade, Rita McBride, Kris Martin or the art theoretician Bazon Brock since 2007. The art collaborations demonstrate his interest in an interdisciplinary exchange with visual artists; objects originating from these collaborations have often been exhibited in galleries.

Hornemann's goldsmith works encompass all forms of Haute Joaillerie: rings, necklaces and trinkets, brooches and cufflinks. He refers to his free art objects as creatures or modern chambers of curiosities. In both areas, Hornemann primarily uses precious stones and metals, sometimes also iron and acrylic – or he incorporates elements into his creations in other ways, for example, ancient coins, elements of Byzantine crosses, Russian icons and Japanese swords.

His precious objects unite highly artificial craftsmanship with an inexhaustible wealth of ideas right down to the smallest detail. His preferred motifs, insects, frogs and reptiles, as well as blossoms and skulls, appear like, among other things, extracts from Baroque vanitas still life works. The idea of nature morte is central to his works. His repertoire extends from the proliferous and opulent to the geometric and stringent form. His objects are small miracles, overflowing with surprise and esprit.

On the occasion of the award ceremony, select pieces of his jewellery and art objects will be on display this year too in a special event.

The Cologne Fine Art Prize, endowed with Euro 10,000, is conferred jointly by Koelnmesse and the Bundesverband Deutscher Galerien und Kunsthändler e.V. (BVDG/German Association of Galleries and Art Dealers) on the occasion of Cologne Fine Art.

The previous prize winners: Felix Droese (1996), Ottmar Hörl (1997), Dieter Roth (1998), Thomas Huber (1999), Thomas Bayrle (2000), Astrid Klein (2001), Sigmar Polke (2002), Jörg Sasse (2003), Berlin Kupferstichkabinett (2004), Thomas Schütte (2005), Dieter Krieg (2006), Gert and Uwe Tobias (2007), Katharina Sieverding (2008), Georg Baselitz (2009), Andreas Schulze (2010), Günther Uecker (2011), Tony Cragg (2012), Jürgen Klauke (2013), Leiko Ikemura (2014), Candida Höfer (2015), Karin Kneffel (2016)